Melony Pierpont Evans

Keeping the Home- and loving it!

Looking Forward

1 Comment

Today’s news tells us that the democrates have 51 seats and that oil prices will continue to climb and that there is no end in sight in Iraq and will we indeed have a woman as the speaker of the house?

Life certainly looks bleak at times. When an older lady in our church and I talked after prayer mtg. last night I told her that I had recently confessed to praying too little for our president. I struggle with being consumed with my own little world and neglecting the big world.

That is when I become overwhemed with what is happening “out there” and want to resign from the human race.

On the home front, when I become weighed down with what is happening in my home, my church or my family I have learned that the only way to have a quiet heart and joyful outlook is to turn it all over.  I must just pour out all of my worries about what could or might happen if things continue on their current course. Then I simply plead with God my Heavenly Father to handle these things in His perfect way. I have come to recognize that I seldom have the best answer. His ways are so much different than my ways or ideas.

Then , I must ask Him again to help me be all that I can be for Him where He has placed me and to help me rest in Him.

Then and only then can I look forward with confidence to what He is doing.

Psalm 124:8 “Our help is in the name of the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.”

Author: Melony

Christian Homeschool mom, eleven children, many grown, some still at home, walker, enjoy reading, blogging, crafting, playing with grandchildren, eating thm, studying nutrition, music and movie lover, enjoy spending time with my husband, ministry...

One thought on “Looking Forward

  1. I’m so thankful that our help is in the name of the Lord and that even when things seem bleak that He is in control and is working and can be completely trusted. It sure is comforting to have a Heavenly Father we can give our concerns to and know that He knows what is best.

    Thanks for your thoughts.

    Love,
    Carolyn

Leave a Reply

