Melony Pierpont Evans

Keeping the Home- and loving it!

My Mom

1 Comment

I have been asked to sing on Mother’s Day at church and I am looking forward to it. I heard a song sung several years ago by Cynthia Clawson called “My Mother’s Faith”. I hope I can get through it.

Let me tell you about my mother’s faith. I found out when I was very young that when my mother was just a little girl, her parents separated and went their own ways and the three children were broken hearted in the process. It happens all the time but my mom and her sister went to a church Vacation Bible School and discovered the Lord Jesus loved them and wanted to help. My mother and her older sister Sue trusted their futures to the Lord, yielded their hearts to Him and He began making a difference in their lives. This was just the beginning of my mother’s faith.

My mother and her sister began attending Bertrand Bible Church and through their faithful attendance and personal study of the Bible began learning to live the life that God had intended for them. My mother met my dad in her early teens and they were married before her 18th birthday. My parents both loved and trusted the Lord to direct their lives and futures. He would be their guide and provider and life would be an adventure.

My parents have worked together at ministry for more than 50 years now. They have worked side by side as my dad pastored small and struggling churches, administered Christian Schools, and made the most of small salaries and continued their educations as they raised their four children.

My dad ( well into his seventies) is still pastoring and my mother is working hard to make their little parsonage a warm and inviting place to offer shelter or a meal to a visitor or a friend.

Mom directs the choir and the last I talked to her she was getting things ordered for VBS this summer.

My mother taught me many more things than I could hope to list. My mother would be the first to tell you that she is not perfect and that she has made many mistakes but she has never stopped learning or giving her all for the Lord.

Life has not been easy but I am sure she would want to have everyone know that she has never been disappointed by her Saviour the Lord Jesus Christ. I have been taught so much by my mother. I have learned much about her faith by her life and example. I hope my children will be able to say that of me.

Thank you mom for…………..

reading the Bible

reading it to me

telling me when I was wrong

making me pretty clothes

loving me

believing in me

teaching me to sew

being such a good friend

encouraging me

teaching me to cook

teaching me to teach Sunday School and VBS

having a slumber party for me

telling me what to wear and what not to wear

teaching me to set the table

letting me use your things

making me feel special

praying for me

praying for my kids

all the things you have gone without to make my life better

I love you!

Author: Melony

Christian Homeschool mom, eleven children, many grown, some still at home, walker, enjoy reading, blogging, crafting, playing with grandchildren, eating thm, studying nutrition, music and movie lover, enjoy spending time with my husband, ministry...

One thought on “My Mom

  1. THANK YOU SWEET MELONY FOR SUCH A PRECIOUS REMEMBRANCE… AND FOR THE CARD I RECEIVED FROM YOU LAST WEEK ALMOST A MONTH BEFORE MOTHER’S DAY..

    YOU ARE SO SWEET TO BE THINKING OF AND PRAYING FOR ME.

    I TRULY AM SO THANKFUL FOR YOU LOVE AND YOUR DESIRE TO HONOR OUR SAVIOUR WITH YOUR LIFE AND YOUR FAMILY.

    ALL MY LOVE
    MOM

    SINGING HIS PRAISE…

    THE LONGER I SERVE HIM THE SWEETER HE GROWS

Leave a Reply

