Melony Pierpont Evans

Keeping the Home- and loving it!

Making Vows

1 Comment

As a new year dawns we reflect and recognize how quickly the last year has gone by. We want to make the most of our days and opportunities. I remember hearing our pastor talk of making vows and promises to God as we face the new year. I love to read Psalms and Proverbs. Psalm 61:8 – tells us says that I will sing songs of praise to God’s name as I perform my vows day after day.

I have made some promises to myself and to my God.

Some are for my physical health. I will walk everyday. I will do my best to follow a wise eating plan. I will get to bed early. I will read and watch only things that are joyful and uplifting and wholesome. I have struggled with sleeplessness and have discovered eating sweets or having caffeine or watching intense or scary movies has really made for restless nights and then unproductive days.

I have also made promises that are for my spiritual good. I will make time everyday for reading God’s word and prayer. I pray for my family, myself and my church family. I make time every week for listening to good preaching. I am faithful in my local church. I also try to keep my schedule light on Saturday especially after 6 PM. It just helps me to go into the Lord’s Day in a quiet way. In that way I am more prepared to hear what God might want to speak to me about.

I have learned to pray at least a few days before making new commitments of my time and energy. This way I can have time for what matters most.

Hope this is a blessing. Have a great day!

Author: Melony

Christian Homeschool mom, eleven children, many grown, some still at home, walker, enjoy reading, blogging, crafting, playing with grandchildren, eating thm, studying nutrition, music and movie lover, enjoy spending time with my husband, ministry...

One thought on “Making Vows

  1. Reblogged this on Melony Pierpont Evans and commented:

    Promises for a New Year

Leave a Reply

